Motorcycles and Mustangs

When I was 24 years of age I bought a brand new Honda Hawk 400 motorcycle.  That was almost 33 years ago.  I loved riding that bike.  I rode it to Little Rock, AR. several times attending Boyce Bible School down there in the old Baptist Hospital.  The last time I rode down there it rained on me all the way back;  205 miles in the drizzling rain.  I nearly froze.  I  had no rain gear for riding.  Like I said that was my last time riding down to Little Rock.

I also rode it to Tulsa, OK. for a Bible Conference one time; and with a brother in law.  We had a wonderful time.  My cycle got 68 miles per gallon on that trip.  Now would that not be nice today?

Anyway on to why I am writing this.  I got rid of that bike, trading it for a car for my family; which I think turned out to be a bad deal; a bad car.  It was an old 1967 Ford Thunderbird four door.  It had the “suicide doors” for the back doors.  It would have been a great car, if money was no problem.

I rode Timothy’s [our eldest son] Honda VTX 1300 to the Bus Garage yesterday.  After arriving home I was worn out physically.  I realized something as I was coming home.  I was not handling that bike as well as it ought to be handled.  I have decided not that I no longer want to get one.  If I cannot handle it properly and safely; I sure do not need to be riding one.

Instead I will dream of a Mustang GT convertible. 🙂  That will not be too high on the priority scale; probably at the bottom of the list.  Oh yeah, and that is with a manual transmission.

There is nothing comfortable about a Mustang, but it sure would be fun to drive, and the top down would still give me that out in the air feeling, that comes from riding a motorcycle.

Craziness on the banks of Flat Creek.

-Tim

 

About Tim A.

Born again through Jesus Christ death, burial, and resurrection, and awaiting His soon return. Husband of Madge. Father of Charity, Monica, Timothy, Philip, and James. Father-in-law to Paul, Sam, Sarah L., Sarah Joyce, and Amber. Grandfather to Rachelle, Jonathan, Caitlyn, Naomi, Josiah, Eli, Rene'e, Addyson, Natalie, Alexzander, Lydia, and Kylie Anne; and two grand children in Heaven. Pastor of Shiloah Baptist Church of Jenkins, MO since July 06, 2014. I enjoy reading and studying the Scriptures of God. My calling in life is to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ and the Word of God. I enjoy riding motorcycles, hiking, camping, hunting, and driving. I drive a school bus because I enjoy it and to make a little extra money.
This entry was posted in Country, Driving, Flat Creek, Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

