Eagle On the Hunt

On the afternoon of December 31 I took a walk along the banks of Flat Creek; from just below the old mill pond down around the bend, and then to the place where our family picnics and swims – the Swimming hole.

It was at the Swimming Hole that I sat down for a spell and just looked, watched, and listened for awhile.  I have enjoyed doing that along the creek since I was a boy old enough to venture away from the house; and maybe even before I was old enough.

As I was setting there a bald eagle came soaring near me over the still water of the hole and I assume was looking for his/her prey for food for the day.  I do not believe I was ever as close to a flying eagle as I was at that moment.  I have seen them in zoos sitting on logs for all the world to gauck at, and admire; but never had I been as close as I was at that time and place; while they were flying.

I watched as she/he soared, flapped wings, turned out over the land on the other side, and back over the water, and then flew on down the creek continuing its search.

A beautiful, majestic, bird.  Yet, “bird” for an eagle just seems so small a word.

Remember to go to church today and worship our Creator who has given us all things to enjoy and glorify His name.

-Tim

By the way… HAPPY NEW YEAR.

About Tim A.

Born again through Jesus Christ death, burial, and resurrection, and awaiting His soon return. Husband of Madge. Father of Charity, Monica, Timothy, Philip, and James. Father-in-law to Paul, Sam, Sarah L., Sarah Joyce, and Amber. Grandfather to Rachelle, Jonathan, Caitlyn, Naomi, Josiah, Eli, Rene'e, Addyson, Natalie, Alexzander, Lydia, and Kylie Anne; and two grand children in Heaven. Pastor of Shiloah Baptist Church of Jenkins, MO since July 06, 2014. I enjoy reading and studying the Scriptures of God. My calling in life is to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ and the Word of God. I enjoy riding motorcycles, hiking, camping, hunting, and driving. I drive a school bus because I enjoy it and to make a little extra money.
This entry was posted in Country, Eagles, Flat Creek, Sunday, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eagle On the Hunt

  1. David Oates says:

    We had a young red-tailed hawk in our backyard this morning less than 20 feet from the house eating a squirrel. While not as majestic as the bald eagle, it, too, was quite a sight.

Leave a Reply

