Feeling the Heat?

There have been record setting temps, or near record breaking temps for the past 15 days or so; and it does not look like it is going to cool down for at least another week at least.  I told my wife, Madge, yesterday, “I thought we left the desert in California when we moved back here twelve years ago.”

The way our grass looks is dead, not dormant like it gets in the Winter months, but dead.  I am working on getting us an irrigation system of sorts, so we can use the Creek, and get some things growing and green again.  I found a shallow well pump on Craig’s List last week, drove to Springfield, and bought it fairly reasonable; at least I think so.  Now I need the pipe for the syphon end of the pump, then electric wire to reach, and water line to get to the sprinklers.

Anyway to the topic I started.  For the past two days it has been 114 degrees at our house.  That is right: 114 degrees.  That is pretty near desert temps.  Last year we had one day that reached that temp, but this is twice that.  Though I like the heat of Summer much better than the cold of Winter; I think I could stand a bit of a cool down; and much rain.

It will rain one of these days, and we will get so much many will be asking, “When is it going to stop?”  Looking forward to the rain coming.

Hope everyone stays cool, safe and healthy.

-tim

About Tim A.

Born again through Jesus Christ death, burial, and resurrection, and awaiting His soon return. Husband of Madge. Father of Charity, Monica, Timothy, Philip, and James. Father-in-law to Paul, Sam, Sarah L., Sarah Joyce, and Amber. Grandfather to Rachelle, Jonathan, Caitlyn, Naomi, Josiah, Eli, Rene'e, Addyson, Natalie, Alexzander, Lydia, and Kylie Anne; and two grand children in Heaven. Pastor of Shiloah Baptist Church of Jenkins, MO since July 06, 2014. I enjoy reading and studying the Scriptures of God. My calling in life is to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ and the Word of God. I enjoy riding motorcycles, hiking, camping, hunting, and driving. I drive a school bus because I enjoy it and to make a little extra money.
This entry was posted in Country, Drought, Flat Creek, Rain, Summer, Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

